Uvita Snorkeling Tours And Reefs
Uvita sits between two very different snorkeling worlds: the shallow coral patches inside Marino Ballena National Park, a short boat ride from the beach, and the reefs of Caño Island, 50 to 80 minutes offshore. Here is how the reefs, the seasons and the tour formats compare.
Short answer
Boat snorkeling from Uvita happens in two places: the coral around the Marino Ballena tombolo and Isla Ballena (3-hour trips from $84.42 per person) and Caño Island Biological Reserve (6 to 8 hour days from $150 per person). Visibility is best January to April, and several 3-hour whale tours include a snorkel stop.
Snorkeling from Uvita is really two different products wearing the same mask and fins. Inside Marino Ballena National Park, the coral grows on the left side of the Whale Tail sandbar and around Isla Ballena, a few minutes from where the boats push off the beach. These reefs are reached on short trips that usually fold a snorkel stop into a whale- and dolphin-watching run. Then there is Caño Island Biological Reserve, roughly 50 to 80 minutes offshore by boat according to one local operator, where the whole day is built around being in the water rather than scanning the horizon. If Caño Island sounds like the better fit for your trip, our guide to Osa Peninsula Travel Guide From The Uvita Side explains how to pair it with Drake Bay and what each season delivers.
This guide lays out both. It covers where the reefs actually are, what the visibility reporting says by season, how the 3-hour Marino Ballena combo tours differ from one another, and which of the eight Caño Island listings fits which budget.
Where Can You Actually Snorkel From Uvita?
The boat-access snorkeling near Uvita splits into two zones: the coral patches inside Marino Ballena National Park, on the left flank of the Whale Tail tombolo and around Isla Ballena, and the reefs of Caño Island Biological Reserve about 50 to 80 minutes offshore by one operator's estimate. Shore snorkeling off the public beach is not the product sold here; every trip listed here is a paid boat trip.
SINAC's own page for Marino Ballena notes that the left side of the tombolo and Isla Ballena hold coral reef, so snorkeling is possible there, and the park's named underwater residents include parrotfish, manta rays and hammerhead sharks among its listed fauna. The reef is close: boats leave from the beach at Uvita or Bahía Ballena, several with no dock at all, and guests wade out to board, a detail one listing states plainly as an exclusion. That makes the park trips short and cheap.
Caño Island is the other animal. SINAC's reserve page states the visit requires prior reservation, that only the marine part is open for snorkel and diving (no landing on the beach or trails), that there is no drinking water on the island, and that access is by boat only from Bahia Drake, Bahia Uvita and Sierpe. Operators from Uvita run 6 to 8 hour days with snorkel stops (one listing names two different spots), lunch, and a long open-water crossing. One operator page describes the marine life as coral reefs, tropical fish, sea turtles and rays, with seasonal humpbacks passing in the July to October and December to March windows.
A third, smaller mention: Playa Ventanas, south of Uvita, has sea caves that are tide-dependent and only safe to explore at low tide, and kayak-and-cave tours there run 2.5 to 4 hours with no guarantee of entry depending on conditions. That is a kayaking product, not a reef snorkel, but the name surfaces in searches and is worth separating from the two real snorkeling zones.
| Zone | Distance from Uvita | Trip length | What the reef is like |
|---|---|---|---|
| Marino Ballena tombolo reef | Minutes from the beach launch | 2.5 to 4 hours | Coral on the left side of the Whale Tail, parrotfish and reef fish |
| Isla Ballena | Inside the park, short boat ride | Same trip as above | Coral reef named by SINAC |
| Caño Island reserve | 50 to 80 minutes by boat | 6 to 8 hours | Tropical fish, turtles and rays reported; marine access only |
| Playa Ventanas caves | Short drive south | 2.5 to 4 hours | Caves, not reef; low tide only, no entry guarantee |
What Is The Marino Ballena Reef Like Underwater?
The Marino Ballena reef is close to shore and best in the dry season: one operator source rates visibility at up to 15 to 50 feet from January to April, with the water holding 78 to 84 F year-round. Several 3-hour whale tours include a stop there with gear provided.
What Marino Ballena's reef offers is convenience: the fish are tropical and varied (parrotfish and angelfish are named in operator descriptions), the water is warm, and the snorkel stop costs nothing extra on a combo tour you were probably taking anyway for the whales. The Uvita Whale Watching comparison pages treat the reef as a bonus on a whale trip, which is the right mental model.
The rainy season runs mid-April to mid-December per SINAC, and visibility in those months falls below the January-to-April peak. One listing, the Marino Ballena watching whales and dolphins trip, is explicit that snorkeling gear is only available during the dry season, from the end of December through April, because of water conditions in the rainy months. If clear water is the point of your trip, aim for February or March, which long-term averages identify as the lowest-rainfall months, and check our guide to Uvita Weather By Month For Boat Days before you pick a date.

The trips that put you on this reef are the 3-hour combos. Here is how the three listed here differ; all three list free cancellation.
Which 3-Hour Combo Tour Includes A Snorkel Stop?
Three combo listings pair whale and dolphin watching with a Marino Ballena snorkel stop, from $84.42 to $90 per person for 3 hours: the main combo (4.3 from 136 reviews), a midday version (4.3 from 35 reviews) and the Ballena Aventura combo (4.5 from 17 reviews). All three include snacks, parking and the park ticket, two of them name snorkel gear, and none includes a meal.
The Combo Tour Marino Ballena National Park is the most reviewed of the three, from $84.42 per person, and its inclusions read: fruits, snacks and water, the daily park ticket, snorkel gear, parking, insurance and safety equipment. A guest review on that listing, from Mira_S, describes how the operation works in practice: "Phenomenal tour. The guides really know what they are doing. I’ve never gone real watching before but they had excellent communication with other boats so once one whale was spotted we were able to get there quickly and be very close to them."

The midday version is the same product at the same from-price of $84.42 with a later start, useful if you are driving in that morning; note the drive from San Jose runs about 222 km and roughly 3.5 hours on Route 34 by one map reading, so a midday departure is not automatic padding. The Ballena Aventura combo, from $90 per person, adds a coffee station before boarding (juice, cookies and fruit are named on the listing) and states hotel pickup is not included, so guests meet at the departure point.
One more listing belongs in this family even though it is filed under whale watching: the Marino Ballena National Park watching whales and dolphins trip, 4.6 from 107 reviews, from $92 per person, up to 20 guests. Its inclusions name swimming time or snorkeling during the dry season only, plus a visit to Whale's Rock or Ventanas Cave and tropical fruits and water. A guest review from Rosemarie on that listing: "We observed a mother and baby humpback whale for at least 20 minutes. In addition we saw some sea turtles and had the chance to swim in the sea."
| Listing | Price from | Rating | Duration | Snorkel detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Combo Tour Marino Ballena NP | $84.42 per person | ★ 4.3 · 136 reviews | 3 hours | Gear included |
| Whale watching Combo Tour (mid day) | $84.42 per person | ★ 4.3 · 35 reviews | 3 hours | Gear included |
| Ballena Aventura Whale Combo | $90 per person | ★ 4.5 · 17 reviews | 3 hours | Gear not named; coffee station included |
| Marino Ballena: Watching Whales and Dolphins | $92 per person | ★ 4.6 · 107 reviews | 3 to 4 hours | Dry season only |
If a 3-hour combo is what fits your day, our guide to Whale Watching And Snorkeling Combo From Uvita goes deeper on how these stack up against pure whale trips.
Is A Caño Island Snorkeling Trip Worth The Longer Day?
Caño Island is Uvita's full-day reef trip: 6 to 8 hours, from $150 to $185 per person, with lunch included on every listing and access to the marine reserve only (SINAC does not permit landing). It is the choice when the reef matters more than whales, and every listing here includes gear, lunch and the reserve ticket in some combination.
The crossing is the price of admission. One operator source puts the boat ride from Uvita at 50 to 80 minutes each way, which is part of why these are full-day products. SINAC's reserve page sets the fees (foreign adult USD 16.95, child USD 5.65, tax included), visiting hours of 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m., prior reservation through its office, and no drinking water on the island. Whether your tour price covers the reserve ticket comes from each listing's own inclusions; most of the Caño listings here name it directly.

The top-rated Caño listing from Uvita is The Wonders of Caño Island Snorkeling Tour, 4.9 from 92 reviews, from $150 per person, 8 hours, with lunch (a typical Costa Rican dish like chicken and rice plus fresh fruit is how the listing describes it), snorkel gear, safety gear, a certified guide and free on-site parking. Check availability on the operator's listing if that combination fits, since it is also the lowest from-price among the Caño trips.
The 8-hour Uvita: Snorkeling at Caño Island listing, 4.7 from 135 reviews and from $160 per person, is the most reviewed Caño product overall; its inclusions name snacks, pastries, coffee and bananas, full snorkel gear, a rice-and-pasta lunch with chicken or vegetables, parking, the park ticket, showers and all fees and taxes. Dietary needs are handled by indication at booking. For a stated group cap, the Caño Island Snorkeling Tour from Uvita (4.7 from 98 reviews, from $160 per person) caps at 21 guests and names a bilingual guide, first aid kit and insurance.
| Listing | Price from | Rating | Duration | Group cap | Lunch |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Wonders of Caño Island | $150 per person | ★ 4.9 · 92 reviews | 8 hours | Not stated | Yes, typical dish |
| Snorkeling Tour at Caño Island | $170 per person | ★ 4.4 · 45 reviews | 6 to 7 hours | Not stated | Yes |
| Uvita: Snorkeling at Caño Island | $160 per person | ★ 4.7 · 135 reviews | 8 hours | Not stated | Yes, dietary options |
| Caño Island Snorkeling Tour from Uvita | $160 per person | ★ 4.7 · 98 reviews | Full day | Up to 21 guests | Yes |
| Caño Island Snorkeling Tour From Uvita | $155 per person | ★ 4.6 · 14 reviews | 7 hours | Not stated | Yes |
| Uvita: Snorkeling in Caño Island | $185 per person | ★ 4.7 · 8 reviews | 8 hours | Up to 15 guests | Picnic, vegan and GF options |
Our guide to Caño Island Snorkeling From Uvita: Trip Options And Conditions covers all eight listings; the head-to-head with Marino Ballena is next here.
Marino Ballena Or Caño Island: Which Snorkeling Day Trip Should You Book?
Book Marino Ballena if you want whales and a short snorkel in one 3-hour morning, from $84.42 per person. Book Caño Island if the reef itself is the point and you can give it a full day, from $150 per person. Marino Ballena wins on price, duration and the chance of humpbacks alongside the swim stop.
These are different products and should not be merged in your head. The 3-hour combos spend most of the trip whale watching, with a snorkel stop folded in when conditions allow; one listing even states snorkeling gear only runs in the dry season. The Caño trips spend the day crossing open water and snorkeling. Neither guarantees anything about sea state or sightings; operators cancel or reroute for weather.
Budget and stamina decide most of it. A family with young kids or a tight schedule does well with a 3-hour park trip, where the lowest price listed here sits ($75 per person on the morning whale and dolphin tour, which includes snorkel gear but has no restroom on board, and whose snorkel stop depends on the boat's vote that day: a guest review from Julie_B describes being "given the choice of finding more whales or snorkeling at the Whale’s Tail"). Two snorkelers with a free day and a car do better at Caño. Our guide to Caño Island Vs Marino Ballena: Which Boat Day To Pick runs this decision in full.
| Factor | Marino Ballena combo | Caño Island day trip |
|---|---|---|
| Duration | 3 hours (3 to 4 on one listing) | 6 to 8 hours |
| Price range | From $84.42 to $92 per person | From $150 to $185 per person |
| Main draw | Whales plus a snorkel stop | Reef fish, turtles, rays |
| Visibility pattern | Best January to April | Varies on the day |
| Meal | Not included | Lunch included on every listing |
| Reserve landing | Not applicable | Not permitted, marine access only |
When Is Uvita Snorkeling Visibility At Its Best?
Visibility peaks in the dry season, January to April, when one operator source rates Marino Ballena at up to 15 to 50 feet and February and March post the lowest long-term rainfall. The rainy season, mid-April to mid-December per SINAC, brings poorer visibility in the shallows, and at least one operator removes snorkel gear from its trips entirely from May through December.
The seasonal pattern is the single most useful planning fact on this page. SINAC defines the dry season as mid-December to mid-April with sporadic rain, and the rainy season as mid-April to mid-December. The operator reporting on visibility follows that same line: January to April is when the park's snorkel sites near Punta Uvita and Ballena Island read clearest. Water temperature barely moves the needle, 78 to 84 F year-round per one operator's November 2025 reading, so the decision is about clarity, not warmth.

Whale season overlaps differently. Southern-hemisphere humpbacks run July to mid-November, peaking August to September; northern humpbacks run December to March or April. That means February and March are the rare months combining strong visibility with a live northern-hemisphere whale season: a combo tour in that window serves both interests. September is the opposite trade-off, the strongest whale months against rainy-season water.
| Period | Season | Snorkel visibility | Whale context |
|---|---|---|---|
| January to April | Dry (mid-Dec to mid-Apr) | Best, up to 15 to 50 ft per one operator | Northern humpbacks, peak Jan to Feb |
| May to mid-December | Rainy | Reduced; one operator drops gear entirely | Southern humpbacks Jul to mid-Nov, peak Aug to Sep |
| February and March | Dry, lowest rainfall months | Clearest of the year | Northern season live |
What Do Uvita Snorkeling Tours Cost And What Is Included?
Snorkeling from Uvita runs from $84.42 per person for a 3-hour Marino Ballena combo to $185 for the top-priced 8-hour Caño Island trip, with most Caño listings clustered from $150 to $175. Park and reserve tickets are included on the trips whose listings name them; gear is included on all the Caño listings and on two of the three combos, but check each listing for the dry-season caveat.
The honest way to read the price ladder is by what the day contains. The cheapest listing overall is the morning whale and dolphin tour at $75 per person, which includes snorkel gear and bottled water; its snorkeling depends on conditions and the group's choice, per the guest quote above. From there the combos add the park ticket and insurance ($84.42), and the Caño trips add the boat crossing, the reef and a full lunch ($150 to $185). Towels, photos and transport to the meeting point are excluded on several listings, so check the listing for those.
Two cost notes from the official side. Marino Ballena entry per SINAC is USD 6.78 for a non-resident adult and USD 5.65 for a non-resident child, card payment only, valid the whole day; whether you pay it separately depends on whether your tour's inclusions name the park ticket, and the combos and most whale listings do. Caño Island's reserve fee per SINAC is USD 16.95 for a foreign adult and USD 5.65 for a child 2 to 12, with the reservation handled in advance, and again most Caño listings here fold it in. Our guide to Marino Ballena National Park Entrance Fee And Tours prints the full fee schedule.
| Cost item | Typical treatment | Where to verify |
|---|---|---|
| Marino Ballena park ticket | Included on most whale and combo listings | The listing's inclusions block |
| Caño Island reserve ticket | Included on most Caño listings | The listing's inclusions block |
| Snorkel gear | Included; dry-season only on one listing | The listing's inclusions block |
| Lunch | Caño trips only | The listing's inclusions block |
| Parking | Free or included on several listings; one Caño listing charges $9 cash | The listing's exclusions block |
| Tips | Not included on the listings that name tips | The operator's booking page |
How Do The Boat Rules Affect Your Snorkel Trip?
Costa Rica's cetacean rules (Decreto Ejecutivo 32495) shape every Uvita boat day: boats keep 100 m from whales and 50 m from dolphins with the engine on (30 m engine off), stay at most 30 minutes with a group, and nobody swims with, touches or feeds cetaceans. Snorkeling happens away from the animals, which is why the swim stop is a separate part of the trip, not an encounter.
The decree's practical footprint on a combo tour is bigger than it looks. The 30-minute group limit and the two-boat maximum around one group explain why a 3-hour trip can feel choreographed: the captain coordinates with other boats, spends a bounded window with the whales, then moves the day to the swim stop. The guest review quoted earlier, praising boats communicating to reach a sighting quickly, describes exactly this system. Swimming, diving and kayaking around cetaceans is prohibited outright, so the snorkel stop sits on the reef, not near whatever the boat just watched.

For the swim stop itself: several boats launch straight off the beach with no dock, guests wade to board, and the sea state on the day governs whether the stop happens at all. Life jackets and minimum ages are listing-level questions, so check the listing. Our guide to Whale Watching Boat Rules And Ethics In Costa Rica prints the full rule set.
What Should You Bring On A Uvita Snorkeling Tour?
Bring a towel, reef-safe sunscreen applied before boarding, a dry layer for the crossing, cash for parking where a listing charges it (one Caño listing says $9), and any dietary note for lunch tours. The listings exclude towels, photos and personal items on several trips, water and fruit are standard inclusions, and there is no drinking water on Caño Island itself, so take what the operator hands out.
The exclusion lists are the packing list in reverse. Towels appear as exclusions on multiple whale listings; photos and videos likewise. At Caño, SINAC's own page notes there is no drinking water on the island, which is why the operator inclusions matter: coffee and pastries before departure, fruit and water on the water, and lunch at midday are the pattern across the Caño trips. One Caño listing charges $9 cash for car parking and another names $8 cash at a whale listing, so small bills are genuinely useful, and card payment is the rule at the park posts themselves.
Footwear earns a specific note: beach launches mean wet feet boarding. It is not a hiking situation, but flip-flops on a wade-out launch are a losing bet. Our guide to What To Wear And Bring Whale Watching In Uvita, Seasickness Included covers the full kit list for boat days, and everything in it applies to a snorkel trip plus mask-friendly hair ties and a dry bag for the crossing.
Common Questions About Uvita Snorkeling Tours And Reefs
Where Can You Actually Snorkel From Uvita?
Two zones: the shallow coral on the left side of the Marino Ballena Whale Tail and around Isla Ballena, reached on 3-hour boat trips, and Caño Island Biological Reserve, 50 to 80 minutes offshore by one operator estimate, on 6 to 8 hour days. Playa Ventanas has tide-dependent sea caves explored by kayak, not a reef snorkel.
When Is Uvita Snorkeling Visibility At Its Best?
January to April, the dry season, when one operator source rates Marino Ballena visibility at up to 15 to 50 feet. February and March are the lowest-rainfall months on long-term averages. In the rainy season, one listing removes snorkel gear entirely from May through December because of water conditions.
Do The 3-Hour Whale Tours Include Snorkeling?
Three combo listings do, from $84.42 per person, including gear, fruit, water and the park ticket. One whale-and-dolphin listing includes swimming or snorkeling only in the dry season. Some pure whale listings include snorkel gear and others exclude it, so check the inclusions block on the listing.
How Much Does A Caño Island Snorkeling Trip Cost?
From $150 to $185 per person listed here, for 6 to 8 hour days with lunch and snorkel gear included on every listing. The reserve's own fee per SINAC is USD 16.95 for a foreign adult and USD 5.65 for a child, and most listings fold it into the price.
Can You Land On Caño Island During A Snorkeling Tour?
No. SINAC's reserve page states only the marine part is open for snorkel and diving, with no landing on the beach or trails, visits by prior reservation, hours 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m., and no drinking water on the island.
Can You Swim With The Whales While Snorkeling In Marino Ballena?
No. Under Decreto Ejecutivo 32495, swimming, diving or any in-water activity around cetaceans is prohibited, boats keep at least 100 m from whales and 50 m from dolphins, and no tour may put swimmers near the animals. Snorkel stops happen on the reef, away from any sighting.