Caño Island Snorkeling From Uvita: Trip Options And Conditions

Caño Island sits off the Pacific coast south of Uvita, and eight different day trips leave from the Uvita area to snorkel its marine reserve. Here is how the rides, prices and inclusions compare.

Snorkel boat anchored over a coral reef near a forested island on a calm Pacific morning

Short answer

Caño Island snorkel trips from Uvita run from $150 to $185 per person for full-day shared boats, roughly 6 to 8 hours door to dock. The crossing takes about 50 to 80 minutes each way, and SINAC, which manages the reserve, charges foreign adults $16.95 entry, which most tour prices already bundle.

Caño Island Biological Reserve lies off the Costa Rica south Pacific shore, and every snorkel trip there starts the same way: a boat ride out of the Uvita and Bahía Ballena area into open water. SINAC, the national conservation system that manages the reserve, permits access to the marine section only, so the day is built around reef stops and lunch rather than island time ashore. The reward is the reserve's reefs, with coral, reef fish, turtles and rays commonly reported.

Eight bookable listings run this route from Uvita, and they differ more than their names suggest: durations run from 6 hours to a full day, prices run from $150 to $185 per person, and the group caps, lunch arrangements and gear policies vary line by line. This guide lays out the crossing, the fees, the visibility windows and the differences between each trip so a searcher can pick the right boat rather than the first one that appears.

Open boat crossing calm blue water toward a small forested island on the horizon

How Long Is The Boat Ride From Uvita To Caño Island?

Expect roughly 50 to 80 minutes on the water each way, according to one local operator that runs these trips regularly, which is why every Caño listing is a 6 to 8 hour day while Marino Ballena whale boats are back in half that. The crossing is open-ocean, not a bay cruise, and the ride time shifts with sea state and the boat. Once the reserve is reached, the day splits into snorkel stops on the reefs around the island, plus lunch served aboard or on a nearby beach depending on the operator. Budget the whole day: with check-in, the crossing, the stops and the return, the shorter listings still take about 6 hours from the meeting point.

SINAC's reserve page notes that access is "unicamente mediante transporte marino" from Bahia Uvita, Bahia Drake and Sierpe, so Uvita is one of the three legitimate gateways. Visiting hours inside the reserve run 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m., which sets the pace: boats leave early, usually with a morning meeting time confirmed at booking, and work the reefs inside that window before the run home.

If the crossing sounds long for your group, the alternative is staying inside Marino Ballena National Park, where our guide to Whale Watching And Snorkeling Combo From Uvita covers a reef stop and whale watching in a 3 hour loop. That page compares the shorter option in detail.

Leg of the day Typical time Notes
Check-in and boarding Morning, time confirmed at booking Several boats board from the beach, expect to wade
Crossing Uvita to Caño Island About 50 to 80 minutes One operator source; open ocean, sea-state dependent
Snorkel stops Varies by listing Reefs in the island's marine zone; one listing names two snorkel sites
Lunch Aboard or on a nearby beach Included on all eight listings
Return crossing About 50 to 80 minutes Total day runs 6 to 8 hours

What Do The Caño Island Snorkel Trips From Uvita Include?

All eight Uvita listings bundle snorkel gear and lunch into one price, which runs from $150 to $185 per person, and six of the eight also name the reserve entry; the differences are duration, group size and small extras like a coffee station or dietary options. The reserve fee is the significant one: SINAC charges foreign adults $16.95 and children aged 2 to 12 $5.65, tax included, and six of the eight listings name it among their inclusions. What is never included is transport to the meeting point on the listings that state it outright, and towels and personal items appear in several exclusion lists, so pack your own.

The best-reviewed trips earn it on the food and the guiding. The Wonders of Caño Island tour, rated 4.9 from 92 reviews and from $150 per person, serves a typical Costa Rican lunch with fresh fruit and notes on its listing that specialty meals may carry added fees ordered 48 hours in advance. The listing with check-in pastries and a picnic lunch included, from $160 and rated 4.7 from 135 reviews, lays out the midday spread in unusual detail: rice, pasta, salad, chips, a drink and chicken or vegetables, with allergy notes requested at booking.

Two smaller-boat options cap the crowd differently. One lists up to 21 guests, the other up to 15 with vegan, vegetarian and gluten-free picnic options, and a further two cap at 22 and 20 respectively; the rest do not state a group size, so check the listing if a head count matters to you. Several departures meet at a stated point with hotel pickup explicitly not included; on those, you drive to the office or beach yourself.

The three trips above are the 4.9-rated 8 hour day, the pastries-and-lunch listing with the bigger review pool, and the full-day bilingual trip capped at 21 guests. All three carry free cancellation on their listings.

Snorkeler floating over a coral reef with schools of tropical fish in clear water
Tour Price Rating and reviews Duration Group cap stated
Caño Snorkel, 6 to 7 Hours from $170 per person ★ 4.4 · 45 reviews 6 to 7 hours Not stated
8-Hour Caño Snorkel, Meal from $150 per person ★ 4.9 · 92 reviews 8 hours Not stated
7-Hour Caño Snorkel, Meal from $155 per person ★ 4.6 · 14 reviews 7 hours Not stated
Check-In Pastries, Picnic Lunch from $160 per person ★ 4.7 · 135 reviews 8 hours Not stated
Full Day Caño Snorkel from $160 per person ★ 4.7 · 98 reviews full day up to 21 guests
Picnic Lunch, Dietary Options from $185 per person ★ 4.7 · 8 reviews 8 hours up to 15 guests
6-Hour Reserve Snorkel, Meal from $175 per person ★ 4.4 · 5 reviews 6 hours up to 22 guests
Snorkel With Lunch Included from $175 per person ★ 5.0 · 3 reviews 6 hours up to 20 guests

A quick note on reading that table: ratings with small pools mean exactly that. A listing with 3 or 8 reviews has no statistical standing next to one with 135; treat the number beside the stars as the more honest signal.

Which Caño Island Trip Should You Book From Uvita?

Pick by duration and crowd, not by the destination, because every boat snorkels the same reserve: the 4.9-rated 8 hour trip from $150 has the top rating and lowest price, the $155 seven-hour trip suits anyone who wants a shorter day, and the 15-guest dietary-options boat suits groups with food restrictions. Price mostly buys comfort, food and time rather than a different island. None of the listings states a minimum age.

The featured trip on this site, the Wonders of Caño Island tour, holds the strongest rating on the route, 4.9 from 92 reviews, at the lowest Caño price listed here, from $150 per person. Its listing includes lunch, bottled water, full snorkel gear, safety gear and free on-site parking by the office, and flags that there is no onboard bathroom, a detail worth knowing before committing to 8 hours. Specialty meals, its listing notes, may add fees and need ordering 48 hours ahead.

For a tighter schedule, the 7-hour departure from $155 is a shorter day, with snacks, coffee and lunch included and pickup explicitly not part of the deal. Families with vegetarians or gluten-free eaters should look at the picnic-lunch listing from $185, which names those options outright and caps the boat at 15 guests, the smallest stated head count on the route. And if your real interest is whales as much as reef fish, our guide to Caño Island Vs Marino Ballena: Which Boat Day To Pick walks that trade-off; Caño listings do not promise whales, and this guide will not either.

Is Caño Island Snorkeling Worth The Price From Uvita?

At $150 to $185 for a 6 to 8 hour day with gear, lunch and a $16.95 reserve entry bundled in, the price per hour is comparable to the shorter Marino Ballena whale boats. For context, the most reviewed whale and dolphin trip from Uvita runs from $95 for 3.5 hours, and the lowest-priced listing here is the morning whale and dolphin tour at from $75. Caño costs roughly double, with a longer crossing and a reserve fee higher than Marino Ballena's $6.78 non-resident adult entry that SINAC charges there.

Whether it is worth it depends on what kind of day you want. Caño is a dedicated snorkel expedition: two reef stops in a protected biological reserve, with coral, tropical fish, turtles and rays commonly reported by operators, and the crossing itself as part of the experience. Marino Ballena trips are about whales and dolphins first, with a snorkel stop only where the listing says so, and the combos that pair both run just 3 hours. Snorkel-focused travelers generally get more from Caño; whale-focused travelers get more from the bay.

One operator source that runs Uvita snorkel trips reports Marino Ballena visibility at its best from January to April, up to 15 to 50 feet in the dry season, and the same source puts year-round water temperature in the area at 78 to 84 F. Clarity on the day varies, so treat clarity claims from any operator as their own reporting rather than a guarantee.

Cost factor Caño Island day trip Marino Ballena whale trip
Tour price range (listed tours) from $150 to $185 per person from $75 to $129 per person
Duration 6 hours to full day 2.5 to 4 hours
Reserve entry (SINAC, tax in) foreign adult $16.95, child 2 to 12 $5.65 foreign adult $6.78, child $5.65
Entry bundled in tour? yes, on six of the eight listings yes, on most whale listings that list inclusions
Lunch included on all eight rarely; fruit and snacks are the norm
Main draw reef snorkeling in a biological reserve humpbacks in season, dolphins year-round

What Are The Visibility And Sea Conditions Like Around Caño Island?

The crossing and the reef conditions depend on season and the day: the dry season from mid-December to mid-April per SINAC brings the calmer, clearer window, February and March are the lowest-rainfall months on long-term averages, and boats cancel or reroute when the open-ocean swell is too much. No operator can promise water clarity or a flat crossing, and none of the listings do. Broadly, drier months mean better light and generally better visibility on this coast.

Anchor rope and coral formations seen through clear turquoise water from the surface

Because the reserve sits in open ocean rather than inside a bay, the decision to go rests with the crew on the morning. Weather holds are normal business here, not a red flag; the listings that spell out free cancellation make rebooking straightforward when a departure is called off. If your travel dates are fixed inside the rainier months, build a buffer day into the itinerary rather than booking Caño for your last afternoon.

Water temperature is the one comfort figure with a source: 78 to 84 F year-round per one operator's reporting, which for most snorkelers means a swimsuit is fine and thin-skinned swimmers might want a shorty. Operators report turtles, rays and reef fish as the steady cast, and our guide to Uvita Weather By Month For Boat Days pairs the rainfall pattern with what it means for boat days.

Table of Caño Island snorkel listings from Uvita with price, rating, duration and group cap
The eight Caño Island listings run from $150 to $185 per person, with durations from 6 hours to a full day.

Can You Land On Caño Island Or Only Snorkel From The Boat?

No, you cannot land on Caño Island; you can only snorkel and dive from the boat. According to SINAC's reserve page, the marine section is the part open for diving and snorkeling, with no landing on the beach or trails permitted. There is also no drinking water on the island, so visitors should arrive prepared. That single rule shapes the whole day. Lunch happens aboard or on a nearby beach, bathroom breaks are boat-based (and some boats have no onboard bathroom at all), and the island itself stays a forested backdrop to the reefs. Anyone picturing an island beach day needs to recalibrate to a boat day with two long swim stops.

The reserve also runs on paperwork. SINAC requires prior reservation and payment for every visit, and visiting hours run 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

For the full official picture, SINAC's Caño Island reserve page lists the fees, hours and access rules. The marine-only rule is also why the trip comparisons in this guide hinge on boat comfort and food, since every listing stops at the same water.

Caño Island Or Marino Ballena: Which Day Trip From Uvita?

Choose Caño Island for a full-day snorkel expedition, with trips from $150, or Marino Ballena for a shorter, cheaper outing from $75 built around whales and dolphins inside the national park bay. If a full day of snorkeling appeals, Caño Island wins; if you want whales and dolphins at a lower price in less time, Marino Ballena is the pick. They are different products: 3 hour combos pair whale watching with a brief snorkel stop, while Caño listings are 6 to 8 hour days on the reefs. Travelers with a week can do both; travelers with one boat day should pick the activity they actually care about. Seasonal swings in water clarity can tip the balance between these two trips, so check our guide to Uvita Snorkeling Tours And Reefs before you lock in a date.

Marino Ballena's underwater offering is real but inshore: SINAC itself notes coral reef along the left side of the tombolo and around Isla Ballena, and snorkeling is a named park activity. The trade is visibility: one bay listing drops snorkel gear from May through December because the water is not clear enough. The bay's trump card is humpbacks, and our guide to Best Time For Whale Watching In Uvita By Month maps those windows.

Fees lean the same way. Marino Ballena entry per SINAC is $6.78 for a non-resident adult, card payment only, against Caño's $16.95, and both are typically inside the tour price on the listings that state their inclusions. The practical difference is time and money: a Caño day is roughly double the cost and more than double the hours of the shortest bay trips.

Its listing bundles the reserve ticket, showers, parking and all fees and taxes, and excludes only alcoholic beverages.

What Should You Bring On A Caño Island Snorkel Day?

Bring a towel, reef-safe sunscreen applied before boarding, a dry layer for the crossing, seasickness remedies if you are prone, and cash only where a listing names a cash charge, since several exclusion lists specifically leave out towels and personal items. The crossings are long enough that a light rain jacket earns its space even in dry season, and the coffee stations at several operators make the early check-in easier. One Caño listing notes photos and videos are not included, so bring your own camera.

Seasickness deserves a straight sentence: this is open Pacific water for 50 to 80 minutes each way, and the boats move. Travelers who know their stomachs should medicate before departure, and everyone should eat something at the coffee station if the listing offers one. None of the Caño listings states a minimum age, so families should confirm before booking.

What not to bring matters too, because the reserve rules are strict: SINAC's prohibited list for Marino Ballena includes single-use plastics, and touching or feeding marine life is banned outright. The national whale-watching rules under Decreto Ejecutivo 32495 also prohibit swimming near cetaceans, so if whales appear on the crossing, they are watched from the boat, full stop. Our guide to Whale Watching Boat Rules And Ethics In Costa Rica covers the approach distances and time limits operators work under.

Item Why Included on the trips?
Mask, snorkel, fins The two reef stops Snorkel gear on all eight listings
Life jacket Safety gear on the boats Yes, where listed
Lunch and water Full-day schedule Lunch on all eight; drinks or water on most
Towel No land stop, boat-only day No, bring your own
Reef-safe sunscreen Sun on an open boat; apply before boarding Bring your own
Seasickness remedy 50 to 80 minute open-ocean crossing each way Bring your own
Cash One listing names a $9 cash car-parking charge Only where a listing states it
Dry bag and towel resting on a boat bench with snorkel gear beside it

How Do You Book A Caño Island Trip And What Happens If Weather Cancels?

Every Caño listing here carries free cancellation as stated on its page, and half of them state that hotel pickup is not included, with guests meeting at a departure point in Uvita, so book the date, plan your drive, and expect the operator's confirmation to fix the exact meeting time. Because SINAC requires reserve reservations in advance, book ahead. When sea state forces a cancellation, the free-cancellation terms on these listings are what make rebooking painless, so read the terms on the live listing before you book.

Comparing before booking pays off more here than on most routes because the spread is real: $150 to $185, 6 hours to full day, 15 to 22 stated guests or no stated cap at all. Uvita Whale Watching keeps the listed tours side by side, including the private charter option, a $1,120-per-group 3.5 hour cruise inside Marino Ballena with lunch and drinks, for anyone who decides the open-ocean day is not their party's speed.

Snorkel boat moored near a reef with passengers preparing to enter the water

Common Questions About Caño Island Snorkeling From Uvita

How Long Is The Boat Ride From Uvita To Caño Island?

About 50 to 80 minutes each way according to one local operator, over open ocean. With check-in, two reef stops, lunch and the return crossing, the trips run 6 hours to a full day.

Can You Walk On Caño Island?

No. SINAC permits the marine part of the reserve only for snorkeling and diving, with no landing on the beach or trails. Lunch is served aboard or on a nearby beach.

What Does A Caño Island Snorkel Trip Cost From Uvita?

From $150 to $185 per person listed here, including snorkel gear and lunch, with the SINAC reserve entry named on six of the eight listings. Foreign adult entry is $16.95, children aged 2 to 12 pay $5.65.

Do The Caño Island Trips See Whales?

The Caño listings do not promise whales. Humpback seasons on this coast run roughly July to mid-November and December to March or April, but a dedicated whale trip inside Marino Ballena is the surer format.

When Is Visibility Best For Snorkeling?

The dry season, mid-December to mid-April per SINAC, is the calmer, clearer window, with January to April reported best for Marino Ballena visibility by one operator. Boats cancel or reroute when swell is too much; the listings carry free cancellation.

Is Hotel Pickup Included On The Caño Trips?

On several listings hotel pickup is explicitly not included and guests meet at the departure point in Uvita; others do not state pickup, so check the listing for transport before you book.